Highlights 2017

2017

HKU Faculty of Dentistry holds Knowledge Exchange Award Ceremony 2017

The Faculty of Dentistry held the Inaugural Knowledge Exchange Award Ceremony at Prince Philip Dental Hospital to kick off its 35th anniversary celebration. The 11 awarded projects served the communities in various ways. They included a Mobile Dental Clinics to offer citizens free oral check-ups, scaling and cavity filling service, and seminars and talks to promote precautionary measures against oral diseases. Beneficiaries from these projects included Alzheimer's patients and their caregivers, children with special needs, foreign domestic helpers, and the Muslim community. Some of the projects were outreach service outside Hong Kong to places in Mainland China and remote overseas areas.

 

HKU Stephen Hui Geological Museum holds exhibition on private mineral collections in Hong Kong

The HKU Stephen Hui Geological Museum will hold in collaboration with the Mineralogy Society of Hong Kong a "Mineral Collections in Hong Kong" exhibition from March 3 to August 31, to showcase over 200 precious minerals from 18 private collectors in Hong Kong. The exhibits include one of the best gemmy single crystals of Tanzanite from Merelani Mine, a very rare large gem quality Aquamarine on Albite with large fluid inclusions from Balochi, Gilgit-Baltistan, Pakistan, and a 18 cm large gemmy Rhodochrosite on Quartz from the famous Sweet Home Mine in Colorado, U.S.A.. The mineral display cabinet of the late Dr Stephen Hui Sze-fun with a selection from his private collection is also included.

 

HKU conducted the first demographic study of the Chinese white dolphins in the Pearl River Estuary and urges conservation of dolphin critical habitat

A demographic study of the Chinese white dolphins inhabiting the Pearl River Estuary, led by Dr Leszek Karczmarski, Associate Professor at the HKU School of Biological Sciences, revealed that the PRE dolphin population is declining approximately 2.5% per year and is fast approaching its viability threshold. The findings indicated that the PRE dolphin population is deemed to become extinct unless effective conservation measures can rapidly reverse the current population trend.

 

HKU Faculty of Education launches new book on Cantonese operatic singing art

Since 2006, the Centre for Advancement of Chinese Language Education and Research (CACLER) of the Faculty of Education, The University of Hong Kong (HKU), has been working together with partnering schools, under the HKU Cantonese Opera Education and Research Project, to integrate Cantonese Opera into the secondary school curriculum and on related researches. In 2015, the Lord Wilson Heritage Trust funded the research team led by Dr Dorothy Ng Fung-ping to implement the Publication Project of Cantonese Operatic Singing Art of Leung Yi-chung and Leung So-kam. This new publication records the artistic achievements of Mr Leung Yi-chung and Ms Leung So-kam and gives an account of the Cantonese operatic singing art of the latter.

 

Music and Architecture Listen to the Echoes

The Departments of Music and Architecture have entered into an unusual collaboration to explore their mutual interest in sound and space, through a two-year project called Sounding Architecture.

 

Knowledge Exchange (KE) Excellence Award 2016

The university-level KE Excellence Award was introduced in 2015-16 to recognize the significant impact that our academic staff had made to benefit society. Ms Amanda S. Whitfort of the Faculty of Law has received the KE Excellence Award 2016.

 

HKU Asia Global Institute launches AsiaGlobal Fellows Programme

The Asia Global Institute at HKU has launched the AsiaGlobal Fellows programme to select 16 fellows from around the world each year for a fully-funded 13-week inter-disciplinary global leadership development programme. The fellows are expected to be mid-career professionals who have already demonstrated strong leadership potential and are up-and-coming influencers in politics, policy-making, business, or civil society. They are also expected to share a common career interest in Asia-related policy matters. The program is the first of its kind in Asia.

 

Leisure and Cultural Services Department and HKU to hold exhibition on Professor Jao Tsung-i's works on Dunhuang culture

The Leisure and Cultural Services Department and HKU will jointly hold the exhibition "Splendour of Dunhuang: Jao Tsung-i's Selected Academic and Art Works Inspired by Dunhuang Culture", featuring Professor Jao's publications, letters, manuscripts, paintings and calligraphy which are related to Dunhuang arts and culture. The exhibition will be staged at the Hong Kong Heritage Museum from May to September.

 

Historic Hong Kong photographs available for viewing online at the Hong Kong Image Database of HKU

Hungarian Photographer Dezső Bozóky's historic Hong Kong photographs are now available online at the Hong Kong Image Database for public viewing. This collaborative project between The University Museum and Art Gallery and the Hong Kong Image Database of HKU Libraries features 58 historical images from 1900s era Hong Kong. 30 of these photographs are currently on display in the Pictures of the Past: Hungarian Photographer Dezső Bozóky in Hong Kong at UMAG from now until January 8, 2017. Bozóky (1871-1957) took approximately 1,500 photographs across East Asia, including in China, Korea and Japan; a total of 58 images were shot in Hong Kong. His archive forms a collective memory of a colonial Hong Kong that has largely vanished from the landscape.

 

HKU study reveals Hong Kong hosts more than ¼ of all marine species recorded in China

Hong Kong has a record of 5,943 marine species, according to a recent review by a research group led by Professor Gray A. Williams of The Swire Institute of Marine Science (SWIMS) and School of Biological Sciences of  HKU. This first comprehensive review of local marine biodiversity shows that with only about 1,651 km2 marine area (~0.03% of China's total), Hong Kong already accounts for ~26% of the total marine species recorded in China. However, currently only less than 2% of Hong Kong’s marine area is protected as marine parks or reserve. The research team urged the government to move towards the global target of at least 10% marine protected area by the year 2020 under United Nation's Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD). To establish a platform for the international scientific community to access the marine species in Hong Kong for conservation, research and education purposes, the research team, in collaboration with international experts, has also launched the Hong Kong Register of Marine Species (HKRMS) under the umbrella of the largest global marine biodiversity database, the World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS). Hong Kong is one of only ten regions in the world that has such a regional species database, and was the first in Asia.

 

Two HKU architects receive RIBA Award for International Excellence and International Emerging Architect

Mr Joshua Bolchover and Mr John Lin, Associate Professors in the HKU Faculty of Architecture, earlier received the prestigious Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Award for International Excellence as well as the RIBA International Emerging Architect prize for their Andong Hospital project in Baojing County, Hunan in Mainland China. The project team aimed at developing a publicly-friendly model rural health care building capable of supporting the many progressive reforms on rural hospital management and care giving.

 

KE in The Review 2016

The University has been pursuing and promoting impact opportunities through knowledge exchange in a variety of ways. "Our effort to bring the fruits of our work beyond the campus and academic world is snowballing and will gain further momentum in future," says Professor Peter Mathieson, President and Vice-Chancellor, in 'The Review 2016'.

Highlights 2017

2017

香港大学牙医学院举办学院「知识交流奖」颁奖典礼2017

香港大学牙医学院庆祝学院成立三十五周年,於菲腊牙科医院举办「知识交流奖2017」颁奖典礼。在典礼中获奖的十一个知识交流计划,以多种创意形式与非政府组织合作服务社区,包括采用『流动牙科车』为市民提供免费口腔检查、低价洗牙补牙服务;开设讲座谘询活动,传授口腔疾病防御知识。受惠者不仅有本地民众,包括幼儿园儿童、长者及其家属、 外籍家庭雇员和穆斯林社群,及海外偏远地区的民众。

 

香港大学许士芬地质博物馆即将举办矿物收藏展

香港大学许士芬地质博物馆联同香港矿物学会,将於2017年3月3日至8月31日期间,举办「香港矿物家收藏」特备展览,向公众展出来自18名香港私人收藏家逾200件的宝贵矿物。当中亮点包括可以被誉为世界上最好的单晶矿物之一 --- 产自Merelani矿山的坦桑石,还有产自巴基斯坦吉尔吉特 - 巴尔蒂斯坦非常罕见和珍稀、属宝石级别并与钠长石共生、包含了水泡的海蓝宝石,以及产自美国科罗拉多洲著名Sweet Home 矿山的一件18厘米大小红菱石。已故许士芬博士用於摆放其私人珍藏的陈列柜及内里摆放的宝贵矿物,同样是今次特备展览的焦点。

 

香港大学进行全球首个珠江口中华白海豚的研究并敦促保护海豚的重要栖息地

由香港大学生物科学学院副教授贾力诚带领的研究团队,对栖息於珠江口的中华白海豚进行研究,指出该处的海豚总数每年下降约2.5%,并迅速接近它们种群存活的临界点。研究结果显示除非能作出有效的保护措施迅速扭转当前的趋势,否则珠江口的海豚种群将会绝种。

更多>>(内文只有英文版)
 

香港大学教育学院推出新书《素心琴韵曲艺情》

香港大学教育学院中文教育研究中心自2006年起,一直致力於中学推广粤剧文化,将粤剧融合中国语文的培训计划及相关的教学研究,并推行「香港大学粤剧教育研究及推广计划」。2015年,「卫奕信勋爵文物信托」拨款资助由吴凤平博士的研究团队推行「梁以忠、梁素琴唱腔艺术出版计划」,编纂出版《素心琴韵曲艺情》,记述粤乐大师梁以忠及粤曲表演艺术家梁素琴的艺术成就,深入浅出剖析梁素琴粤曲唱腔的精妙。

 

音乐和建筑互动绕梁

音乐系建筑学系携手合作为期两年的「发声建筑」项目,探索他们对声音和空间的共同兴趣。

更多>>(内文只有英文版)
 

2016年卓越知识交流奖

香港大学於2015-16年度设立了大学层面的「卓越知识交流奖」,表扬为社会带来重要影响的教员。2016年「卓越知识交流奖」由法律学院Amanda S. Whitfort副教授获得。

 

香港大学亚洲环球研究所开办「亚洲环球学人计划」

港大亚洲环球研究所开办首届「亚洲环球学人」计划,将选出十六位「亚洲环球学人」来港参加为期十三周的跨领域课程与交流。参加者应在事业发展的中期,须具备卓越领导才能,关心亚洲事务,并能在将来的政界、商界或公民社会扮演举足轻重的角色。这是亚洲首个此类课程。

 

康乐及文化事务署和香港大学合办「敦煌韵致—饶宗颐教授之敦煌学术艺术展」

康乐及文化事务署将和香港大学合办「敦煌韵致—饶宗颐教授之敦煌学术艺术展」,展出饶宗颐教授敦煌学研究的著作、书信、手稿、书画艺术作品。展览将於今年五月至九月在香港文化博物馆举行。

 

香港历史照片於港大「香港印象」资料库网站供公衆欣赏

匈牙利摄影师德索•博佐奇的香港历史照片由今天起於「香港印象」资料库网站供公衆欣赏。这计划由港大美术博物馆港大图书馆的「香港印象」资料库策划,重现香港於1900年代的58幅历史照片。当中30幅正於港大美术博物馆的《昔日香港:匈牙利摄影师德索·博佐奇在香港》展出,展期至2017年1月8日。博佐奇(1871–1957)於东亚地区,包括中国、韩国及日本共拍下约1,500幅相片,当中58幅於香港拍摄。这些相片回顾不复存在的景观,成为了香港殖民时期的集体回忆。

更多>>(内文只有英文版)
 

港大统计香港录得全国逾四分之一的海洋物种

港大生物科学学院太古海洋科学研究所韦念时教授研究团队的一项统计发现香港录得5,943种海洋生物。这是本港历来首个海洋生物多样性全面研究,发现香港的海洋面积(1,651平方公里)虽仅占中国的约0.03%,却录得全国约26%的海洋物种。但现时本港只有约少於2%的海域被划分为保护区,研究团队敦促政府尽快将本港海洋保护区的面积提高至最少10%海域,以达至联合国《生物多样性公约》定下的全球目标,即到2020年,实现至少10%的海洋保护区。为了让大众可以更容易查阅香港的海洋物种,以作保育、研究及教育之用,港大研究团队与国际专家合作成立了一个网上资料库名为《香港海洋物种名册》。这是全球最大网上海洋生物多样性资料库《世界海洋物种名册》辖下的十个地区资料库之一。香港是亚洲首个成立这类地区资料库的地方。

 

香港大学两建筑学者获英国皇家建筑师协会国际卓越奖及新锐建筑师奖

港大建筑学院两位副教授Joshua Bolchover林君翰,以位於湖南省保靖县的昂洞卫生院的设计项目,早前获英国皇家建筑师协会(Royal Institute of British Architects,RIBA)颁发RIBA Award for International Excellence(国际卓越奖)和RIBA International Emerging Architect (国际新锐建筑师奖)。团队旨在建立一个向社区开放和能够支持并推动农村医疗管理及护理改革的卫生院模范。

 

2016知识交流回顾

香港大学通过各种方式的知识交流来开展和促进在社会各层面发挥影响力的机会。校长马斐森教授在「2016回顾(校长报告书)」中说:「我们不断努力把我们工作的成果带出校园,在学术界以外作出贡献,这方面的动力在未来将进一步加强。」

更多>>(内文只有英文版)