Green Roofs Create Oases in the City

Knowledge Exchange Video

Green Roofs Create Oases in the City
 

 

Green roofs have been in use since early humans first covered basic structures with sods and plants that kept them warm in winter and cool in summer. But these primitive shelters were not waterproof, had no floor coverings and did little to keep out burrowing animals.

Jump thousands of years forward to present day Hong Kong and there are still many perceived limitations - and often societal resistance - in adopting green roof technology in spite of its recognised benefits for today’s power-hungry cities.

As early man discovered, green roofs improve the thermal performance of buildings. This in turn allows buildings to remain cooler in the summer by evaporative cooling and reflecting and dissipating solar radiation, while retaining heat during the winter months. Rainwater can be absorbed by the green roofs to be released gradually to reduce the scale of drainage infrastructure and flooding. They also serve as wildlife oases, providing refuge for wild animals living in the green islands or "stepping stones" for those navigating a way through the concrete jungles that are modern cities.

Professor C Y Jim, Chair Professor of Geography at The University of Hong Kong, is a pioneer in this field and is dedicated to ensuring more buildings in the city have a green covering, including external green walls, containing micro-ecosystems where possible.

Professor Jim has designed and built more than 20 high-rise green roofs in the city, including at HKU, at various schools, and three on Tai Po rail station. His collaboration with CLP Power Hong Kong Limited (CLP) is an exemplary knowledge exchange project - together they have created the largest Sky Woodland in Hong Kong at a CLP substation in Tseung Kwan O, covering two roofs and exterior walls.

"Green buildings can provide us with beautiful scenic views, and they can clean the air, cool the air, cool the city, and they can provide a sort of soothing ambience for people," Professor Jim said.

Monitoring equipment has been installed on the CLP substation to allow a full set of microclimatic data to be collected on the temperature, humidity, solar and terrestrial radiation, wind and rainfall to evaluate thermal, hydrological and ecological benefits of the green roof. This will allow HKU and CLP to gauge the sustainability of the project and to improve designs, if needed, for any future developments.

For the future, Professor Jim hopes the CLP substation in Tseung Kwan O will be a living demonstration of the benefits of green roofs and green walls, and how they can be used in built up areas.

绿化天台为城市创造绿洲

知识交流录像

绿化天台为城市创造绿洲
 

 

自从早期的人类开始用简单的草皮和植物覆盖居所以达致冬暖夏凉的效果,他们就懂得应用绿化天台。但这些原始的遮蔽物不但不能防水、没有地板,更不能阻挡穴居动物的入侵。

转到千百年后现今的香港,即使了解到屋顶绿化技术对耗电量巨大城市的效益,绿化天台的应用仍然有不少障碍,而这些往往是社会上的阻力。

早期的人类发现,屋顶绿化能提高建筑物的散热效能,使建筑物能利用蒸发冷却、反射和消散太阳辐射的原理来保持冬暖夏凉。雨水可以先被绿化天台吸收,然后逐步被释放,以减少排水基础设施的规模和减洪。绿化天台还充当野生动物的绿洲,为住在绿岛的野生动物提供庇护,又为那些在石屎森林中游走的动物提供「垫脚石」。

香港大学地理系讲座教授詹志勇教授是这领域的先驱。他致力推广绿化建筑物,使更多楼宇让有微生态系统的绿色植被(包括绿墙)覆盖。

詹教授在香港超过20处的高楼设计和设置绿化天台,包括香港大学、其他不同学校以及大埔墟火车站等。其中,他与中华电力有限公司(中电)合作的知识交流项目起了示范作用。他们在将军澳变电站创造了全港最大的「空中树林」,覆盖两个天台和外墙。

詹教授说:「绿色建筑除了能为我们提供优美的自然景观,而且可以改善空气质素、令空气降温,使城市变得清爽,提供一种舒适的氛围。」

中电的变电站安装了监控设备,能收集全面的微气候数据,包括温度、湿度、太阳辐射和地面辐射、风和降雨的数据,用以评估绿化天台的热能、水文以及生态效益。香港大学和中电可利用数据来衡量项目的可持续性,如将来有需要的话,可用於改善设计。

未来詹教授希望中电将军澳变电站能成为典范,展示绿化天台和绿墙的效益,并示范如何在高楼密布的社区设置这些绿化设施。