From Our Research to Your Solutions

Creating Knowledge

The University of Hong Kong is a world-class comprehensive research university, with research activities spanning all major disciplines across our faculties and departments and research centres/institutes.

Today more than ever, research holds the key to our future. The creation and application of new knowledge that propels societies forward and transforms lives and culture has taken on special significance in the 21st century, where new challenges and opportunities are emerging at a rapid pace. In our pursuit of new knowledge, we recognize that we must put our findings to meaningful uses in real world applications in order to benefit as many people as possible.

Applying Knowledge

The University plays a significant role in the transformation of Hong Kong into a knowledge-based economy, and works in collaboration with the Innovation and Technology Commission (ITC) of the HKSAR Government, other University Grants Committee (UGC)-funded institutions, and industries in this direction. In particular, HKU hosts the Hong Kong R&D Centre for Logistics and Supply Chain Management Enabling Technologies (LSCM) jointly with the Chinese University of Hong Kong and the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology to foster the development of Hong Kong's logistics sector, one of the city's most important economic pillars. LSCM was established in 2006 with funding support from the ITC under its core initiative - the Hong Kong R&D Centre Programme.

This R&D Centre is just one example of HKU's many endeavors to provide a platform to translate our research into real-life applications. Innovation abounds in HKU. We strongly encourage the commercialization of our intellectual property through technology transfer, as the practical application of technological advances benefits both the University and the community as a whole.

HKU's Intellectual Property Rights Policy, approved by the Council in June 2011, sets out the University's policy on IPR for works produced at the University by staff, students and visitors of HKU.

转化研究成果 成为解决方案

创造知识

香港大学(港大)是一所世界级研究型综合大学,各学院、学系、研究中心和部门均从事研究工作,研究领域涵盖各主要学科。

随著时代的急速发展,科研已成为人类未来所倚。新知识的开拓及应用可推动社会迈步向前,令生活及文化方式转变,这对於新挑战和新机遇急速涌现的廿一世纪来说尤其重要。在追求新知识的同时,我们意识到研究成果必须转化为实际应用,方能令更多人受惠。

应用知识

在香港迈向知识型经济的过程中,港大担当著举足轻重的角色,并与香港特区政府创新科技署 、获大学教育资助委员会(教资会)资助的其他学府及产业界携手合作。其中一项重要成果,是港大联同香港中文大学香港科技大学协办的物流及供应链管理应用技术研发中心(LSCM 研发中心),以推动物流业作为本港重要经济支柱之一的发展。LSCM研发中心於2006年获创新科技署根据其推行的重要措施 --- 香港研发中心计划资助成立。

港大一直致力提供平台,将研究成果转化为实际应用,上述的研究中心仅为其中一例。港大向来是创意革新的温床,积极鼓励通过技术转移,将其知识产权商业化,使港大以至社会整体受惠於崭新技术的实际应用。

香港大学校务委员会於2011年6月通过了香港大学知识产权政策,就大学对教职员、学生及访问学人在港大进行的学术及研究工作订立相关条款。