How Science is Saving Hong Kong’s Oyster Industry

Knowledge Exchange Video

How Science is Saving Hong Kong's Oyster Industry
 

 

Oysters have been cultivated in Deep Bay in northwest Hong Kong for more than 700 years. But the future of this traditional industry is uncertain as sales of the saltwater delicacy have been steadily falling due to fears of contamination.

The main threat to the oysters (Crassostrea hongkongensis) comes from pollution and climate change that has led to a major decline in the industry over the last 50 years. As a result, only about 60 families now farm the shellfish from the fishing village of Lau Fau Shan, and this number is predicted to drop further as oyster farmers retire or change professions.

However, Dr Vengatesen Thiyagarajan (Dr Rajan), Associate Professor in the School of Biological Sciences and The Swire Institute of Marine Science of The University of Hong Kong, believes the industry can be saved if the oyster farmers adapt new technologies.

"The oyster is named after Hong Kong, so we should take care of this business and we should provide a solution for the sustainable development of this industry for new generations of farmers," said Dr Rajan. "And we slowly need to change the psychology of our local population towards the consumption of these oysters."

Dr Rajan is working with the Hong Kong government's Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department and the Deep Bay Oyster Cultivation Association on adapting a depuration system where harvested oysters will sit in ultraviolet-sterilised seawater for a few days to remove bacteria.

He hopes to bypass climate change issues, which results in fluctuating water temperatures in Deep Bay, by constant monitoring of the conditions at each raft and by cultivating young oysters in a controlled environment in a purpose-built hatchery.

Crassostrea hongkongensis also suffer from heavy metal contamination but Dr Rajan said this can be monitored with only those oysters that are safe to consume, below an accepted threshold, taken to market.

Hong Kong is not the only location in difficulty as oyster numbers are in decline around the world as a result of rising sea temperatures and increased pollution.

"I'm looking for ways to tackle the climate change and to produce healthy oysters in a sustainable way," Dr Rajan said. "So basically I want to identify the strains that can tolerate climate change, that can produce healthy seeds and healthy products in our local waters."

Dr Rajan believes that adapting these new methods can make oyster farming in Hong Kong a sustainable aquaculture industry.

科研帶領香港蠔業復甦

知識交流錄像

科研帶領香港蠔業復甦
 

 

位於香港西北面的后海灣有超過700年的養蠔歷史。可是,由於消費者憂慮污染對這種鹹水海鮮的影響而引致銷量逐漸下跌,養蠔業的前景變得不明朗。

過去50年來,污染和氣候變化是對香港牡蠣的主要威脅,導致養蠔業衰落。現時只有約60個家庭在流浮山的漁村養這類海產。而且,隨著蠔民退休或轉行,人數大概會進一步下降。

雖然如此,香港大學生物科學學院太古海洋科學研究所副教授Vengatesen Thiyagarajan 博士(Rajan博士)相信蠔民如果能採納新技術的話,養蠔業定能復甦。

Rajan博士說:「這種蠔以香港命名,所以我們應該關顧本地養蠔業,為新一代蠔民提供可持續的發展模式,而且要把人們對吃本地蠔的既有想法慢慢改變。」

Rajan博士正與政府漁農自然護理署以及后海灣蠔業養殖協會合作,採用淨化系統,把蠔穫浸在經紫外線滅菌的海水中幾天,以去除當中的細菌。

氣候變化使后海灣的海水溫度不穩定,他希望通過不斷監測每個蠔排的狀況,並在特設的孵化場內、受控的環境下養殖蠔苗,讓蠔不受氣候變化影響。

香港牡蠣亦受重金屬污染,但Rajan博士表示,只要讓只通過安全水平監測的生蠔進入市場,食物安全是可以監控的。

全球不斷上升的海水溫度和越來越嚴重的污染引致各地的生蠔數目下降,香港並不是唯一面對這個問題的地方。

Rajan博士說:「我設法應對氣候變化,尋找可持續生產健康生蠔的方法。我希望辨別能抵抗氣候變化的蠔苗,讓它們可以在本地水域中生產幼蠔並成長。」

Rajan博士認為,採用這些新的養殖方法,可令養蠔業在香港成為可持續發展的水產養殖業。