HKU KE Strategy

Making a Positive Impact on Society through Knowledge Exchange

Knowledge Exchange (KE), together with Teaching and Research, form the three pillars that underpin all the activities of The University of Hong Kong (HKU). The University defines KE as engaging, for mutual benefit, with business, government or the public to generate, acquire, apply and make accessible the knowledge needed to enhance material, human, social, cultural and environmental well-being. KE is a two-way process, and it not only includes technology transfer but also encompasses all disciplines, including the arts and humanities and the social sciences.

The University has a long tradition of contributing to the community, and our faculty members have been engaging in a wide range of knowledge exchange activities through, inter alia, applied research, technology transfer, delivery of professional and continuing education courses, public lectures, and expertise sharing through professional bodies and media. KE, being a natural consequence of research and teaching, is at the heart of the wide range of activities that our faculty members undertake with the non-academic sectors of our society.

HKU's Vision 2016-2025 document charts the University's direction to build on our internationally recognised accomplishments and become Asia's Global University. To achieve this, the University will focus on the '3+1 Is': Internationalisation, Innovation and Interdisciplinarity, all converging on Impact. These themes will guide all the teaching and learning, research and KE components of our work. The strategic intention for our second and third pillars is to be a world-class global university with world-leading research in critical areas through knowledge creation, translation, realisation and impact (more details).

促進知識交流 彰顯領導地位

透過知識交流為社會帶來正面影響

知識交流與教學及研究,構成香港大學(港大)所有活動的三大支柱。港大將知識交流定義為:「聯同商界、政府或公眾,就共同利益而創造、獲取、應用和提供公開的知識,為物質、人類、社會、文化和環境謀取更大福祉。」知識交流不僅包括技術轉移,同時涵蓋所有學科,例如人文科學和社會科學等,是一所大學與社會之間的雙向交流。

港大一向積極參與社區,港大教員透過應用研究、技術轉移、提供專業及持續教育課程、公開講座,以及通過專業團體和媒體促進專業知識共享等,從事廣泛的知識交流工作。知識交流為研究與教學的自然結果,亦是港大教員與非學術界社會人士共同進行的各項活動的重心。

港大在《 2016-2025發展願景》中制訂了大學這十年的發展方向,建基於港大獲國際認同的成就,目標是要成為亞洲的國際大學。為了實現這個目標,大學將致力推行「3+1 Is」,即「國際化(Internationalisation)」、「創新性(Innovation)」及「跨範疇(Interdisciplinarity)」,從而發揮出「影響力(Impact)」,這些重點主題將指導我們的教學、研究和知識交流活動。而研究和知識交流這其中兩大支柱的策略計劃是要透過知識創造、轉化、實踐和發揮影響力,在關鍵領域上以領先世界的研究,成為世界級的國際大學(詳情)。