HKU Three Minute Thesis Competition 2012


HKU Three Minute Thesis (3MTTM) Competition 2012

The Three Minute Thesis (3MTTM) Competition 2012 of HKU was successfully held on May 29, 2012.  This year 28 research postgraduate (RPg) students participated in the competition, and 12 finalists were shortlisted to compete for 3 prizes decided by the adjudicating panel and the People’s Choice Award decided by audience ballot. 

A new award, namely the Online People’s Choice Award, was introduced this year to promote the 3MT concept to young researchers and the public. The finalist with the most ‘LIKE’ votes on YouTube received this award.

Developed by UQ, Australia, 3MT is an academic competition that challenges RPg students to explain their research within 3 minutes to a general audience.  3MT celebrates the discoveries made by RPg students and encourages them to develop the skills to communicate the importance of their research to the broader community.

Dr York Liao and Mr Kai-man Wong, HKU Council Members, serve on the adjudicating panel as external members.  Internal members of the adjudicating panel included:

Professor John Bacon-Shone, Associate Director of the Knowledge Exchange Office (KEO)
Professor Paul Cheung, Director of the Technology Transfer Office,
Professor Ying Chan, Director of Journalism and Media Studies Centre (JMSC),
Professor Nirmala Rao, Associate Dean of the Graduate School, and
Professor Ben Young, Assistant Dean of the Graduate School.

Congratulations to all the winners of the 3MT Competition 2012.  They are:

Champion and People's Choice Award
Name: Mr Terence Pun Tung NG (PhD RPg student from the Faculty of Science)
Title of Presentation: Sexual Selection in Snails
Primary Supervisor: Prof. Gray A Williams

1st Runner-up
Name: Mr Kelvin Wenkai ZHU (PhD RPg student from the Faculty of Engineering)
Title of Presentation: Performance Optimisation of Mobile Robots
Primary Supervisor: Dr. Shiu Hong Choi

2nd Runner-up
Name: Mr Ricky Van Yip TSO (MPhil RPg student from the Faculty of Social Sciences)
Title of Presentation: Writing Experience Changes Our Visual Perception: The Case of Chinese Character Recognition
Primary Supervisor: Dr Janet Hui Wen Hsiao

Online People's Choice Award
Name: Ms Cherry Yingying ZHANG (PhD RPg student from the Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine)
Title of Presentation: Functional Ion Channels in Human Mesenchymal Stem Cells and Cardiac Progenitor Cells 
Primary Supervisor: Dr Gui Rong Li

Terence will represent HKU at the Trans-Tasman 3MT Competition hosted by The University of Queensland (UQ) in Brisbane on October 11, 2012.

"The experience of this competition will be valuable to all the student participants as well as their supervisors," Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research) Professor Paul Tam says.  

The 3MT Competition was jointly organized by the Graduate School and the Knowledge Exchange Office.  The support of the Journalism and Media Studies Centre in event production is deeply appreciated.  Videos on the presentations of the awardees and finalists can be viewed at the HKU 3MT website: