The Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) Competition was launched by The University of Queensland, Australia, in 2008. Enthusiasm for the 3MT® concept and its adoption in numerous universities led to the Trans-Tasman 3MT Competition, first held at UQ in 2010. In 2016, the Trans-Tasman 3MT Competition was expanded to include a select number of Asian universities and renamed as Asia-Pacific 3MT Competition.

In November 2013, the first Universitas 21 (U21) 3MT competition was held with universities from around the world competing in a virtual competition.

Depending on the arrangements of the organizers of regional/international 3MT competitions, we will again try to arrange for a candidate of the HKU 3MT, who meets the eligibility criteria set by the organizer concerned or hosting institution, to represent HKU at a regional or international 3MT competition. It may be a virtual competition rather than one that is held overseas. In case where the hosting institution or organizer concerned only allows PhD candidates to participate in its competition, the highest ranking PhD candidate may be given the chance to represent the University in that competition.

For information on the Trans-Tasman / Asia-Pacific 3MT Competitions in past years, please click here.