HKU Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) Competition 2015

"Having a thousand ideas running in your head yet unable to convey the message clearly is agony. I was sitting among the audience in the past three years watching the 3MT Competition, and I could clearly recall a few 'wow' moments when the contestants just amazed me with the exciting findings and the way they presented the stories. I am glad that I am part of it this year. Compared to what I gained from the whole preparation process and what I learnt from other contestants, what I gave is minimal. Next year, the stage is yours," says Tianyin Liu, Champion of the HKU 3MT 2015.

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) Competition 2015 of HKU was successfully held on March 10, 2015. This year 41 research postgraduate (RPg) students participated in the competition, and 10 finalists were shortlisted to compete for 3 prizes decided by the adjudicating panel and the People's Choice Award decided by audience ballot. The Online People's Choice Award was awarded to the finalist who received the most 'LIKE' votes on YouTube after the competition.

The 3MT was developed by The University of Queensland, Australia in 2008. It is an academic competition that challenges RPg students to explain their research within 3 minutes to a general audience. 3MT celebrates the discoveries made by RPg students and encourages them to develop the skills to communicate the importance of their research to the broader community.

Professor Peter Mathieson, President and Vice-Chancellor of HKU, officiated at the final competition. Mr Oscar Chow, Executive Director of Chevalier International Holdings Limited and HKU Court member, and Ms Wendy Gan, Executive Director of Pacific Century Premium Developments and HKU Court member, served on the adjudicating panel as external members. Internal members of the adjudicating panel included Professor John Bacon-Shone, Associate Director of the Knowledge Exchange Office (KEO), who served as the Chairman of the panel, Professor Ying Chan, Director of the Journalism and Media Studies Centre (JMSC), Professor Hongzhe Sun of the Department of Chemistry, Professor Paul Yip of the Department of Social Work and Social Administration, and Professor Ben Young, Associate Dean of the Graduate School.

Congratulations to all the winners of the HKU 3MT Competition 2015. They are:



Name: Ms Tianyin LIU
  PhD candidate in the Faculty of Social Sciences
Presentation Title: A Tale of Two Chinese Languages
Primary Supervisor: Dr Janet Hui Wen HSIAO


1st Runner-up and People's Choice Award Winner

Name: Ms Wai Yan KONG
  MPhil candidate in the Faculty of Arts
Presentation Title: Britons Only: The 1940 Hong Kong Evacuation
Primary Supervisor: Professor John CARROLL


2nd Runner-up

Name: Mr Andy Kam Seng LAU
  PhD candidate in the Faculty of Engineering
Presentation Title: World's Fastest Microscope – Creating Big-Data for Deciphering Big Unknowns in Biomedicine
Primary Supervisor: Dr Kevin Kin Man TSIA


Online People's Choice Award Winner

Name: Ms Mana Man Na YUNG
  PhD candidate in the Faculty of Science
Presentation Title: Ecotoxicity of Zinc Oxide Nanoparticles in the Aquatic Environment
Primary Supervisor: Professor Kenneth Mei Yee LEUNG


"We want our next-generation researchers to not only excel in cutting-edge research, but also influence the world with their research discoveries and innovations," Professor Peter Mathieson says. 

The HKU 3MT Competition was jointly organized by the Graduate School and KEO. The event production was supported by the JMSC. Videos on the presentations of the awardees and finalists can be viewed here.

Awardees and finalists of the HKU 3MT Competition 2012 with Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research) Professor Paul Tam and members of the adjudicating panel

Awardees, finalists and supervisors at the 3MT Competition with President and Vice-Chancellor Professor Peter Mathieson and members of the adjudicating panel

(From left, back row) Professor Hongzhe Sun, Professor Ben Young, Professor Mee Len Chye (Associate Dean of the Graduate School), Professor Nirmala Rao (Dean of the Graduate School), Mr Oscar Chow,  Ms Wendy Gan, Professor Peter Mathieson, Professor John Bacon-Shone, Professor Ying Chan, Professor Paul Cheung (Associate Vice-President), Professor John Carroll, Professor Paul Yip, Dr Kevin Tsia

(From left, front row) Ms Liping Wang (finalist), Ms Luqian Wang (finalist), Ms Wai Yan Kong (1st Runner-up and winner of the People's Choice Award), Ms Tianyin Liu (Champion), Mr Andy Kam Seng Lau (2nd Runner-up), Ms Man Na Mana Yung (Winner of the Online People's Choice Award), Dr Chun Yiu Law (finalist), Mr Xiaohu Wang (finalist), Ms Kara Fleming (finalist), Ms Liguan Li (finalist)