“The 3MT competition is much more than just a competition. I feel deeply grateful for the entire journey, which kept pointing to the bigger picture of research. 3MT started with learning to convey the technical concepts of my research to a lay audience, as well as working with the feedback of others to improve the presentation. It was great to make a difference in the community by being able to convey the potential of my research in improving healthcare. My HKU 3MT journey was a blessing I am beyond grateful for,” says Mei Li Khong, Champion of the HKU 3MT 2018 and winner of the People’s Choice Award.

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT®Competition 2018 of HKU was successfully held on March 7, 2018. This year 23 research postgraduate (RPg) students participated in the competition, and 10 finalists were shortlisted to compete for 3 prizes decided by the adjudicating panel and the People's Choice Award decided by audience ballot. The Online People's Choice Award was awarded to the finalist who received the most 'LIKE' votes on YouTube after the competition.

The 3MT was developed by The University of Queensland, Australia in 2008. It is an academic competition that challenges RPg students to explain their research within 3 minutes to a general audience. 3MT celebrates the discoveries made by RPg students and encourages them to develop the skills to communicate the importance of their research to the broader community.

Professor Lap-Chee Tsui, President of the Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong, Ms Priscilla Wong, JP, Barrister, and HKU Council Member, and Ms Janice Chan, Director of the Hong Kong Women’s Imaging Limited, served on the adjudicating panel as our guests of honour. Internal members of the adjudicating panel included Professor John Bacon-Shone, Associate Director of the Knowledge Exchange Office (KEO), who served as the Chairman of the panel, Professor John Kao, Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Global), Professor Pauline Chiu of the Department of Chemistry, Professor Maggy Lee of the Department of Sociology and Professor Ben Young, Associate Dean of the Graduate School.

Congratulations to all the winners of the HKU 3MT Competition 2018. They are:

Champion and People's Choice Award Winner

Name: Ms Mei Li Khong
  PhD candidate in the Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine
Presentation Title: Too Many P-s Spoil the Protein
Primary Supervisor: Dr Julian Alexander Tanner


1st Runner-up 

Name: Ms Jasmeen Kaur Sethi
  PhD candidate in the Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine
Presentation Title: The Ovarian Cancer Games: Catching HNF-1β targets
Primary Supervisor: Professor Annie Nga Yin Cheung


2nd Runner-up and Online People’s Choice Award Winner

Name: Ms Pang Chong
  MPhil candidate in the Faculty of Arts
Presentation Title: Altruism or Opportunism: International humanitarian assistance to Japan following the 3.11 Disaster
Primary Supervisor: Professor John Charles Schencking


The HKU 3MT Competition was jointly organised by the Graduate School and KEO. Videos on the presentations of the awardees and finalists can be viewed here.

Awardees, finalists and supervisors at the HKU 3MT Competition 2018 with members of the adjudicating panel

Awardees, finalists and supervisors at the HKU 3MT Competition 2018 with members of the adjudicating panel

(From left, back row) Ms Chae Yin Cher (finalist), Mr Kam Wa Chan (finalist), Dr Karen Chan (supervisor of the finalist Ms Dai Pu), Dr Moon Ho Alexander Leung (finalist), Ms Dai Pu (finalist), Ms Lin Guo (finalist), Dr Oscar Sanchez-Sibony (supervisor of the finalist Mr Rustam Khan), Mr Rustam Khan (finalist), Professor John Bacon-Shone

(From left, front row) Professor Ben Young, Professor Ricky Kwok (Associate Vice-President [Teaching and Learning]), Professor Pauline Chiu, Professor Bernadette Tsui (Director of the Development & Alumni Affairs Office), Ms Janice Chan, Ms Jasmeen Kaur Sethi (1st Runner-up), Professor Lap-Chee Tsui, Ms Mei Li Khong (Champion and People’s Choice Award Winner), Ms Pang Chong (2nd Runner-up and Online People’s Choice Award Winner), Ms Priscilla Wong, Professor John Kao, Professor Maggy Lee, Professor SP Law (Acting Dean of the Graduate School), Dr Julian Alexander Tanner (supervisor of the Champion Ms Mei Li Khong)