The Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) Competition 2020 of HKU was successfully held on June 23, 2020. This year, 20 PhD, MPhil and PD students participated in the competition, and 9 finalists were shortlisted to compete for 3 prizes decided by the adjudicating panel. The Online People's Choice Award was awarded to the finalist who received the most 'LIKE' votes on YouTube after the competition.

The 3MT was developed by The University of Queensland, Australia in 2008. It is an academic competition that challenges RPg students to explain their research within 3 minutes to a general audience. 3MT celebrates the discoveries made by RPg students and encourages them to develop the skills to communicate the importance of their research to the broader community.

Ms Ada Tse, Independent Non-Executive Director of YangTse Foundation Limited, served on the adjudicating panel as our guest of honour. Internal members of the adjudicating panel included Professor John Bacon-Shone, Associate Director of the Knowledge Exchange Office (KEO), who served as the Chairman of the panel, Professor Frederick Leung, Dean of the Graduate School, and Dr Caroline Dingle of the School of Biological Sciences.

Congratulations to all the winners of the HKU 3MT Competition 2020. They are:


Name: Ms Muyan Wu
  PhD candidate in the Faculty of Engineering
Presentation Title: An Efficient Way to Get Rid of Smells after Indoor Decoration
Primary Supervisor: Professor Dennis Yiu Cheong Leung


1st Runner-up 

Name: Ms Jane Richards
  PhD candidate in the Faculty of Law
Presentation Title: Inclusion of Mental Disability in the Criminal Justice System
Primary Supervisor: Professor Simon Ngai Man Young


2nd Runner-up

Name: Ms Meng Jiang
  PhD candidate in the Faculty of Dentistry
Presentation Title: Clinical Trial on Restoring Untreated and SDF-treated Dentine Caries Lesions
Primary Supervisor: Professor Edward Chin Man Lo


Online People’s Choice Award Winner

Name: Ms Kanmani Chandra Rajan
  PhD candidate in the Faculty of Science
Presentation Title: How to Save Oysters from Ocean Acidification?
Primary Supervisor: Dr Thiyagarajan Vengatesen


The HKU 3MT Competition was jointly organised by the Graduate School and KEO. Videos on the presentations of the awardees and finalists can be viewed here.

Awardees and finalists at the HKU 3MT Competition 2020 with members of the adjudicating panel

Awardees and finalists at the HKU 3MT Competition 2020 with members of the adjudicating panel

(From left, back row)
Mr Shing Kam (finalist #12), Mr Yage Zhang (finalist #28), and Professor John Bacon-Shone

(From left, front row)
Mr Abdullah Husain (finalist #10), Dr Caroline Dingle, Ms Nadine Nicole Muschette (finalist #16), Ms Bernadette Tsui (Associate Vice-President (Development & Alumni Affairs) and Executive Director of HKU Foundation), Ms Ada Tse, Ms Jane Richards (1st Runner-up), Ms Muyan Wu (Champion), Ms Meng Jiang (2nd Runner-up), Professor Frederick Leung, and Ms Kanmani Chandra Rajan (finalist #2)