Skip to main content

Faculty Knowledge Exchange Awards 2024

The Faculty Knowledge Exchange (KE) Awards were introduced in 2011 to recognise each Faculty’s outstanding KE accomplishment that has made demonstrable economic, social or cultural impacts to benefit the community, business/industry, or partner organisations.

Nominations in each Faculty were considered by an Ad Hoc Faculty KE Award Selection Committee chaired by the Dean, and members included the Faculty representative serving on the KE Working Group, Director of the Knowledge Exchange Office (KEO) or his representative, and a member from outside the University.

The selection criteria include quality of the underpinning research and the impact with support of evidence, effectiveness of the engagement process with the community or partner organisations, and demonstration of cross- and multi-disciplinary impacts.

The following colleagues have won the Faculty KE Awards 2024: 

Faculty of Arts:
Professor Youngah Do and team members – Dr Arthur Thompson, Dr Robert Sevilla, Mr Aaron Wing Cheung Chik, Mr Frank Lihui Tan, Ms Ivy Shuang Zheng, Ms Joanna Chu Wen Chen, Mr Kevin Fei Peng Chen, Ms Hannah Yu Hei Chung, Ms Judy Chui Yin Ng and Ms Mavies Yu On Ngai, School of Humanities; Ms Rachel Pui Ching Chen, Department of Psychology; Mr Jeff Wing Tsun Yip, Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science
The Sound of Silence: A Journey through Deaf Culture in Hong Kong

Faculty of Business and Economics (HKU Business School):
Professor Dragon Yongjun TangHKU Business School
The Effects of Green Bond Issuance and Mandatory ESG Disclosure around The World

Faculty of Dentistry:
Professor Ollie Yiru Yu and team members – Professor CH ChuProfessor Walter Yu Hang LamDr Amy Wai Yee Wong, Dr Josie Shizhen Zhang, Dr Xingyun Ge and Dr Darren Dhananthat Chawhuaveang, Faculty of Dentistry
Empowering Non-governmental Organizations to Improve the Older Adults’ Oral Health in Hong Kong with A Sustainable Model of Community-based Outreach

Faculty of Education:
Professor Shelley Xiuli TongFaculty of Education
Reading for Understanding: Supporting Chinese-English Bilingual Reading Comprehension

Faculty of Engineering:
Professor Reynold CK ChengDepartment of Computer Science
GIVE: Generic and Intelligent Volunteering for Supportive Communities

Faculty of Law:
Professor Daisy Tin Muk Cheung and team member – Professor Rebecca LeeDepartment of Law
Legislating and Promoting Advance Medical Directives in Hong Kong’ 

Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine:
Professor Michael Yuxuan Ni and team members – Dr Candi Leung, Dr Phyllis Lun, Ms Cynthia Yau, Dr Corine Wong, Dr Ke Ning, Mr Solomon Wong, Mr Francis Flores, Mr Hoi Wa Wong and Ms Tiff Ma, School of Public Health
A Health and Wellbeing Barometer for Hong Kong: Translational Impact Attained over A Decade and Counting’ 

Faculty of Science:
Professor Francis Chi Chung LingDepartment of Physics
Enhancing the Performance of SiC Power Devices: A Collaboration of Hong Kong Academy and Mainland Industry’ 

Faculty of Social Sciences:
Professor Terry Yat Sang Lum and team members – Professor Gloria Hoi Yan WongProfessor Samson Shu Ki Tse,Professor Paul Wai Ching WongProfessor Siu Man NgProfessor Vivian Weiqun LouDr Stephanie Ming Yin WongDr Dara Kiu Yi Leung and Ms Angie Kwan Yu Shum, Department of Social Work and Social AdministrationProfessor Wai Chi ChanDepartment of PsychiatryProfessor Reynold CK ChengDepartment of Computer Science
JC JoyAge - Holistic Support Project for Elderly Mental Wellness’ 

My heartiest congratulations to all the colleagues concerned on their stellar achievements in KE.

Professor Max Shen
Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)
Acting Director of Knowledge Exchange Office

Back to KE Spotlight