Skip to main content

KE Excellence Award, HKU Innovator Award and HKU Young Innovator Award

The university-level KE Excellence Award was introduced in 2015-16 to recognise the significant impact that our academic staff had made to benefit society.  The KE Executive Group has deliberated on all the Faculty nominations and agreed that the KE Excellence Award 2020 be awarded to:

Dr Caroline Dingle, Dr David Baker, Dr Timothy Bonebrake, and Professor David Dudgeon, School of Biological Sciences, Faculty of Science
Reduction of Illegal Global Wildlife Trade through Novel Conservation Forensics Research

Recognising innovations is equally important to spur sharing of innovations with the broader community.  The new HKU Innovator Award and the HKU Young Innovator Award have been established to recognise outstanding Faculty members whose innovations demonstrate exceptionally high potential impact (legacy or projected legacy) with transformative results to foster development.  The recipients for these two new awards are as follows:

HKU Innovator Award 2020 
Professor Chuyang Tang, Department of Civil Engineering, Faculty of Engineering 

HKU Young Innovator Award 2020
Dr Ka Wai Kwok, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering

The three Awards will be presented at the HKU Excellence Awards Presentation Ceremony to be held in March 2021.

Back to KE Spotlight