跳往主要內容

知識交流焦點

  • 2020年學院知識交流獎

    2020年學院知識交流獎

    香港大學每年的「學院知識交流獎」,由各學院選出對知識交流作出重要貢獻的教員,表揚他們對工商界或社會所帶來的經濟、社會或文化影響。2020年「學院知識交流獎」的得獎名單已公布。

    更多
  • 香港大學牙醫學院為非華裔社群提供牙科服務

    香港大學牙醫學院為非華裔社群提供牙科服務

    香港大學牙醫學院自2017年起推出「Gateway to Dental Health」項目,與非牟利機構合作,為非華裔社群提供免費外展牙科服務。該項目由聶燊朗醫生發起,致力改善非華裔社群的口腔健康。項目團隊走進社群,為非華裔人士提供牙科服務和教育,並於2018年至2019年,籌組了七場的口腔健康推廣日。由於疫情關係,今年的外展牙科服務需延期進行,但團隊不會暫停對非華裔社群的支援。學院將與印度協會、巴基斯坦商會和醫護行者舉辦線上直播,以印度語、烏都語和英語分享口腔衛生常識、外展牙科服務資訊,並解答與會者對口腔健康的提問。

    更多
  • 港大工程學院有望將熱成像發燒檢測系統應用在公共交通上

    港大工程學院有望將熱成像發燒檢測系統應用在公共交通上

    港大機械工程系助理教授(研究)傅秀聰博士領導一組由計算機科學和機械工程學者組成的跨學科團隊,最近成功開發一種低成本且便攜式、又可讓用戶輕易控制的發燒檢測系統。新系統設計使用的熱像儀配件是商業產品,每套售價約為港幣$3,000,總成本遠低於市面上其他同類系統。該系統自五月初在港大校園進行了測試,期望將來可以廣泛應用於的士、穿梭巴士和小巴等公共交通上。

    更多
  • 港大法律學院透過短片 推廣教學上創意及合法地使用版權作品

    港大法律學院透過短片 推廣教學上創意及合法地使用版權作品

    香港大學法律學院製作一系列名為「版權教室」的短片,推廣教學上創意及合法地使用版權作品。「版權教室」由法律學院副院長(學術事務)李雪菁副教授負責,並獲大學的知識交流基金教學發展補助金資助。李女士希望透過這些短片,加深教育界和公眾對版權法的認識,理解教學上應用版權作品豁免權的原則,同時知道在哪裡可找到相關資源和材料等。李女士尤其感謝法律校友蕭叔叔為短片旁白獻聲,以及其他團隊成員和合作中學的參與 。「版權教室」現已推出九齣專為大中小學而設的短片,通過「版權教室– HKU」頻道和李女士的教學網站發佈。

    更多
  • 港大統計學者利用新冠肺炎CT電腦掃描數據庫 以人工智能技術網上協助篩查疑似病人

    港大統計學者利用新冠肺炎CT電腦掃描數據庫 以人工智能技術網上協助篩查疑似病人

    由港大統計及精算學系系主任尹國聖教授西南財經大學統計學院統計研究中心助理教授劉斌博士(現為港大博士後研究員)率領的團隊,研發了一個網上診斷系統,利用人工智能技術分析CT電腦掃描檢測,對新冠肺炎疑似病人進行篩查,了解他們的染病基率。研究團隊於新冠肺炎疫情蔓延初期便開始關注與病毒相關的研究, 他們研發的網上COVID-19診斷系統準確率達88%。研究團隊參閱了760篇論文,進一步研究並分析新冠肺炎的五種病徵,發現每個新冠病人CT影像上均會出現其中一種或者多種病徵,而這五種病徵是新冠疾病區分於其他肺炎的顯著特徵,從而設計出一個基於CT圖像的Lesion-Attention 深度神經網絡模型。尹教授和劉博士希望前線抗疫的醫務人員能使用診斷系統並分享數據並開展合作研究,以減輕核酸檢測的負擔。

    更多
  • [心理 ・ 理心] 網上短片分享

    [心理 ・ 理心] 網上短片分享

    香港大學心理學系系主任李湄珍講座教授和她的同仁(臨床心理學家和教育心理學家) 針對疫症蔓延對人們心理健康所產生的影響,製作了[心理 · 理心] 網上短片系列,分享有關心理健康方面的見解和錦囊,並會解答大眾的問題。該短片系列共有五節,內容每星期更新,由5月29開始於 [心理 · 理心] 專頁播放。

    更多
  • 港大研究團隊利用大數據準確預測新冠肺炎傳播規律

    港大研究團隊利用大數據準確預測新冠肺炎傳播規律

    由港大帶領的國際研究團隊提出一種嶄新方法,採用人口流動數據,準確預測新型冠狀病毒肺炎(新冠肺炎)傳播的規律,並建立風險評估模型,可於早期識別出傳播新冠肺炎的高風險地區,有助公共衛生專家及各國政府盡早實施傳染病防控措施。港大經濟及工商管理學院市場營銷學副教授賈軾博士及其研究團隊,使用由內地一家主要流動電訊商提供的全國人口流動數據,追蹤在2020年1月1日至24日,即内地農曆新年春運大規模人口流動至武漢封城期間,總共超過1,100萬人次從武漢或經由武漢轉往至內地31個省和區的296個地級市的人口流動情況。賈博士的研究團隊將人口流動數據與截至2020年2月19日在內地的新冠肺炎確診病例的數量作比較,發現疫症爆發中心(武漢)流出的人口數量跟全國各地區新冠肺炎病例數目和地理分佈有直接相連關係。研究人員發現,該模型可以從統計學上解釋了新冠肺炎在全國分佈96%的情況,從而有助於識別高風險區域。

    更多

Skip to main content

KE Spotlight

  • HKU Faculty of Dentistry provides dental service to non-ethnic Chinese

    HKU Faculty of Dentistry provides dental service to non-ethnic Chinese

    "Gateway to Dental Health" was launched by the HKU Faculty of Dentistry in 2017 and has been working hand in hand with NGOs to provide free dental outreach service to Non-Ethnic Chinese (NEC).  The Project was initiated by Dr Prasanna Neelakantan, Clinical Assistant Professor in Endodontics of the Faculty, with the objective to improve oral health condition of local NEC. The project team engages the NEC community by providing dental services and oral health education and in 2018 and 2019, seven dental health fairs were organised. This year, despite the postponement of our outreach dental services due to the pandemic, the project team will continue to provide oral care support to the NEC community. Together with the India Association Hong Kong, Pakistan Association of Hong Kong and Health in Action, a webinar will be held to share oral health tips, information on dental services and to respond to self-care questions. 

    Read More
  • HKU engineering team develops handy and low-cost thermography fever detection system for public transportations

    HKU engineering team develops handy and low-cost thermography fever detection system for public transportations

    A multidisciplinary group of researchers from the Departments of Mechanical Engineering and Computer Sciences led by Dr Fu Sau-chung, Research Assistant Professor of the HKU Department of Mechanical Engineering, has recently explored a low-cost thermography fever detection system which is portable and can be easily accessed and mastered by users. The thermal camera plugin in the current prototype is a commercial product which costs around HK$3,000 per set and this accounts for most of the hardware cost. As compared to other similar systems in the market, the total cost of the current prototype is far lower and the system is more handy. Multiple trials have been conducted at the HKU campus since early May. The research team hopes that this portable thermography fever detection system can be applied in public transportation, such as taxis, shuttle buses and minibuses commonly in the future.

    Read More
  • HKU Law promotes creative and ethical use of copyright works in education with short videos

    HKU Law promotes creative and ethical use of copyright works in education with short videos

    Led by HKU Faculty of Law Associate Dean (Academic Affairs) and Associate Professor Ms Alice Lee, a series of short videos titled “Copyright Classroom”, supported by the HKU Knowledge Exchange Funding and HKU Teaching Development Grant, is produced to promote creative and ethical use of copyright works in education.  Ms Lee hopes both the education sector and the general public will have a better understanding of copyright principles through the videos, be able to identify copyright exceptions in teaching and learning, and know where to look if relevant resources and materials are needed. She also thanks law alumnus Uncle Siu for being the voice over, other team members and partner secondary schools for their inputs. A total of nine videos, tailor-made for the tertiary, secondary and primary education sectors, are disseminated through “The Copyright Classroom – HKU” channel as well as Ms Lee’s education website.

    Read More
  • HKU statisticians develop online diagnostic system for screening COVID-19 with AI technologies based on chest CT dataset

    HKU statisticians develop online diagnostic system for screening COVID-19 with AI technologies based on chest CT dataset

    A research team led by Professor Yin Guosheng, Head of Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science at HKU, and Dr Liu Bin, Assistant Professor of Centre of Statistical ResearchSchool of StatisticsSouthwestern University of Finance and Economics (currently Post-doctoral Fellow at HKU) has integrated radiography and computer vision to develop a digital online diagnostic system for COVID-19 based on chest CT scans. The diagnostic system can help to screen suspected cases of COVID-19 and evaluate the probability of one contracting the disease with 88% accuracy. The research team at HKU has designed a Lesion-Attention Deep Neural Network (LA-DNN) model based on the CT images. Leveraging on text reports from 760 research papers, the research team further analysed and pinpointed five different lesions in association with COVID-19 and identified each confirmed patient with at least one or more of the five lesions. These five lesions are the distinctive features that differentiate COVID-19 from general pneumonia or other lung diseases. Professor Yin and Dr Liu hope that medical staff can make use of the diagnostic system and share patients’ image data to initiate collaborative research and accommodate the urgent demands for COVID-19 testing.

    Read More
  • Tips on Sustainable Psychological Health

    Tips on Sustainable Psychological Health

    The recent events in Hong Kong have given rise to unprecedented challenges to general psychological wellbeing. Professor Tatia Lee, Head of HKU Department of Psychology, and her clinical psychology and educational psychology colleagues, have prepared five short videos, each of which contains useful insight and tips for protecting and promoting psychological wellbeing. A special topic will be presented each week starting from May 29, 2020. 

    Read More
  • HKU-led study accurately tracks COVID-19 spread with big data

    HKU-led study accurately tracks COVID-19 spread with big data

    An international research team led by HKU developed a new method to accurately track the spread of COVID-19 using population flow data, and establishing a new risk assessment model to identify high-risk locales of COVID-19 at an early stage, which serves as a valuable toolkit to public health experts and policy makers in implementing infectious disease control during new outbreaks. Dr Jayson Jia, Associate Professor of Marketing at the Faculty of Business and Economics of HKU and lead author of the study, and his team used nation-wide data provided by a major national carrier in China to track population movement out of Wuhan between January 1 and 24, 2020, a period covering the annual Chunyun mass migration before the Chinese Lunar New Year to a lockdown of the city to contain the virus. The movement of over 11 million people travelling through Wuhan to 296 prefectures in 31 provinces and regions in China were tracked. Combining the population flow data with the number and location of COVID-19 confirmed cases up to February 19, 2020 in China, Dr Jia’s team showed that the relative quantity of human movement from the disease epicentre, in this case, Wuhan, directly predicted the relative frequency and geographic distribution of the number of COVID-19 cases across China. The researchers found that their model can explain 96% of the distribution and intensity of the spread of COVID-19 across China statistically which helps to identify high risk area.

    Read More
  • HKU startup “Hollo” – a mental health companion and therapist

    HKU startup “Hollo” – a mental health companion and therapist

    Hollo”, a social technology startup by a group of students from HKU Faculty of Science, provides a platform for NGOs and therapists to advance therapy practices using technology such as Big Data and AI. By improving the diagnosis and treatment delivery with proprietary technology and detection algorithms, the platform allows patients to spend less time in the system and keep professionals more informed. The team will further enhance the accuracy rate and is working with local NGOs for a pilot scheme targeting 100 to 200 people. They hope the App can be formally launched in September 2020. 

    Read More